This post is also available in: ruРусский

About White Cane

White Cane Social movement is a non-profit public organization founded by visually impaired people in Ekaterinburg, Russia in 2010. We are seeking new approaches to rehabilitation and re-activation of people with disabilities. Our aim is to help and promote our community’s social and economic activities, and establish contacts with the world of ‘healthy’ people. We believe it very important for us to become self-sustained and independent both economically and in everyday life.

White Cane is a unique social experiment whose central participants – people with disabilities of many kinds – essentially, gain an indispensable experience of positive life attitude and full interaction with the world and its people outside their routine surroundings. We encourage each other to find a way in life, get good jobs, fulfil talents and be helpful to the society.

In our doing so, we are guided by the Extrability philosophy (a combination of “Extra” and “Ability”). Our own life experiences tell us that a physical impairment may often become a jumping-off place for unaffected abilities. Therefore, our task is to foster the growth of these dormant talents and capabilities. We call these capabilities Extrability.

Contact with the ‘outer’ world of healthy people is among our most important principles. We have enough proof to declare this co-operation between the two ‘worlds’ serves for mutual good. White Cane runs meetings, workshops, training courses, conferences and festivals both in Russia and abroad.

White Cane Presentation

 

 

This post is also available in: ruРусский

О «Белой трости»

Cоциальное движение «Белая трость» — автономная некоммерческая организация, основанная в 2010 году в городе Екатеринбурге, Россия. Мы ищем новые подходы к социальной реабилитации людей с ограниченными физическими возможностями. Цель нашей работы — повышение социальной и деловой активности таких людей, установление и расширение связей со «здоровым» обществом, обретение экономической и бытовой независимости.

«Белая трость» — это уникальный социальный эксперимент, в ходе которого его участники — незрячие и слабовидящие люди, а также люди, имеющие другие виды инвалидности — приобретают незаменимый опыт позитивного отношения к жизни и полноценного взаимодействия с окружающим миром. Мы помогаем друг другу найти место в жизни, обрести достойную работу, реализовать способности и таланты и принести пользу обществу.

В нашей работе мы руководствуемся философией Экстрабилити (от англ. “Extra” – «сверх» и “Ability” – «способность»). Собственный опыт подсказывает нам, что ограничение одной из физических способностей человека часто является мощным толчком к развитию других способностей. Поэтому, наша задача – способствовать развитию скрытых способностей и талантов. Такие способности мы называем Экстрабилити.

Одним из важнейших принципов нашей организации является активное сотрудничество с миром «здоровых» людей. Мы нашли убедительные подтверждения тому, что такое сотрудничество взаимно обогащает оба «мира». «Белая трость» проводит встречи, мастер-классы, тренинги, конференции и праздники, как на территории нашего региона, так и в России и за рубежом.